top of page

Newsletter - November 2016

Upcoming meeting The 661st SASRE General Meeting will be held at the Fhata Lushaka Boardroom, Koedoespoort Workshops, on Thursday, 24th November 2016 at 17h00. Sterra Mbotyi, Senior Lean Manager, Planning and Optimization at Transnet Engineering will present a paper entitled: ‘Bottleneck eradication to improve paint shop efficiency in Transnet Engineering at Koedoespoort and Durban Workshops.’

Synopsis Transnet Engineering is currently building new Locomotives with four different OEM’s (GE; CSR; CNR & BT). GE and CSR are based in our Pretoria KDS Depot and the CNR as well BT are based in Durban. The demand from the client is to paint 36 Locomotives between these two Depots i.e. Koedoespoort and Durban per month. The current painting facilities that TE has cannot handle the required demand and thus the infrastructure improvement is required in both workshops. The presentation is about the project to do a feasibility study of the facilities and devise solutions to enable the required capacity with the minimum capital layout.

Annual General Meeting

The 78th SASRE Annual General Meeting was held on Thursday, 20th October 2016 at the Meriting recreation club.

Our members voted on the composition of the committee for the next year. Several members will continue to serve, and we are pleased to welcome some new faces to the committee.

The society wishes to thank Jan de Beer, our outgoing president for many years of committed service to SASRE, and to congratulate Ross Hartley, our new president.

New Committee for 2016/2017 (* new members)

President: Ross Hartley (TFR)

Immediate past president: Jan de Beer (TE)

1st vice president: Alex Powell (Bombardier)

2nd vice president: Joseph Nethathe (RSR)

Treasurer: Poovendren Naidoo (TFR)

Secretary: Sizwe Nkosi (TFR)

Ordinary members:

Nyanese Dlamini * (TFR)

Emma Molobi * (TE)

Marnus Mulder (TE)

Nikheil Singh (TFR)

Emma Stanvliet * (TFR)

Outgoing Committee for 2015/2016

President: Jan de Beer (TE)

Immediate past president: Oredus Mattheus (TE)

1st vice president: Ross Hartley (TFR)

2nd vice president: Alex Powell (Bombardier)

Treasurer: Poovendren Naidoo (TFR)

Secretary: Sizwe Nkosi (TFR)

Ordinary members:

Ncamisile Khanyile (TE)

Peter Kleynhans (Timken)

Marnus Mulder (TE)

Joseph Nethathe (RSR)

Nikheil Singh (TFR)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page